Michigan drunk driving laws prohibit operating a vehicle while visibly impaired (OWVI); while intoxicated by liquor or drugs (OWI); with an unlawful blood alcohol level (UBAL); while “super drunk” with a .17 percent or higher blood alcohol content (High BAC); or, with the presence of controlled substances (OWPCS) (controlled substances include cocaine and marijuana). Penalties for drunk driving may include fines, imprisonment, community service, vehicle immobilization, vehicle forfeiture, and licensing sanctions. Multiple offenders face increased penalties up to and including prison time.
A person arrested for suspected drunk or impaired driving must submit to a chemical test of the arresting officer’s choosing or face the possibility of a one- or two-year suspension of driving privileges.
Any vehicle a defendant is driving when he or she is arrested for drunk driving has the potential of being immobilized on conviction. For a first offense, the immobilization up to 180 days is discretionary with the court. For a second offense, immobilization between 90 and 180 days is mandatory. Immobilization is authorized in any manner that locks the ignition, wheels, or steering of a vehicle. A court may order the defendant to pay the cost of immobilizing and storing the vehicle.
Other major traffic offenses for which we can represent you include reckless driving, driving with a suspended license, leaving the scene of an accident, and fleeing and eluding the police. Penalties for these offenses may include fines, jail time, and license sanctions.
For civil infractions, such as speeding tickets, jury trials are not available, and jail sentences are not imposed. Violators of the ban on sending text messages while driving, must pay costs and a civil fine of $100 for the first offense and $200 for a second or subsequent offense.
Driver’s license penalties are handled exclusively by the Michigan Secretary of State. The department may suspend a driver’s license for, among other reasons, an undesirable driving record, failure to pay child support, an unsatisfied judgment in an automobile negligence suit, and certain crimes related to the use of a motor vehicle. You may have to pay a separate reinstatement fee to the Secretary of State before regaining your driver’s license. In certain circumstances, we may appeal your license suspensions and denials to the Secretary of State’s Administrative Hearing Section, or to circuit court.
Our fees for helping you with motor vehicle related cases are very competitive. Contact SOLOMON LAW any time, day or night, to seek our representation in these matters.